Music Monday

I know you were expected a song from that sweet Jesus tunes CD…maybe tomorrow.

The song today is Beauty From Pain by Superchick.

This song has been through a lot. There is still alot I do not understand, and some of it I’m not sure I ever will. I used the lyrics of this song for a rhetorical assignment last week. We had to read the piece and then invite the class to discuss it with us. Remember I go to a state university and have 2 known Christians in my class. A girl who went to Catholic high school. 2 that profess to be spiritual but have no “belief” in Jesus or Christianity.

It was neat how God used this simple piece of rhetoric to stir up conversations in a diverse classroom. One of the guys who does not believe in religion asks lots of good questions and was open and responsive. Another girl said she was glad to have this song. This Friday is 3 years since her Dad died. You can tell she is still heartbroken. If anything, He reminding how far something small can go. And now I know they are watching. They are waiting to see what God will do next. They are waiting to see if He is real. If He exists or if I can just read words of hope and another a Psalm and that they will fall deafly like the leaves without a sound or thought. I needed this reminder and experience as I prepare for my interview Friday (feel free to pray about that).

Melissa (read Psalms) and I now know who and what to pray for. And we are going to. There are opportunities in this class and God is ready to show the lost that He does exist, that His love is real. So if you think about, pray for Kim on Friday. And pray that these people see Jesus in a real way.

God is ready to heal the brokenhearted and bring beauty from pain. Will you show the lost that He is real?


“Beauty From Pain”

The lights go out all around me
One last candle to keep out the night
And then the darkness surrounds me
I know i’m alive but i feel like i’ve died
And all that’s left is to accept that it’s over
My dreams ran like sand through the fists that i made
I try to keep warm but i just grow colder
I feel like i’m slipping away

After all this has passed, i still will remain
After i’ve cried my last, there’ll be beauty from pain
Though it won’t be today,
Someday i’ll hope again
And there’ll be beauty from pain
You will bring beauty from my pain

My whole world is the pain inside me
The best i can do is just get through the day
When life before is only a memory
I’ll wonder why God lets me walk through this place
And though i can’t understand why this happened
I know that i will when i look back someday
And see how you’ve brought beauty from ashes
And made me as gold purified through these flames

After all this has passed, i still will remain
After i’ve cried my last, there’ll be beauty from pain
Though it won’t be today,
Someday i’ll hope again
And there’ll be beauty from pain
You will bring beauty from my pain

Here i am, at the end of me
Tryin to hold to what i can’t see
I forgot how to hope
This night’s been so long
I cling to Your promise
There will be a dawn

After all this has passed, i still will remain
After i’ve cried my last, there’ll be beauty from pain
Though it won’t be today,
Someday i’ll hope again
And there’ll be beauty from pain
You will bring beauty from my pain

Music Monday

4 thoughts on “Music Monday

  1. I’m not sure a song will ever mean as much to me.

    …and very cool that you could use it in your class. I’d like to hear more about what kind of things ended up being talked about.

  2. Deb says:

    It’s so amusing and amazing how both churches we attend as well as the devotion book I’m reading all are talking about being disciples. Something new that hit me today was that God didn’t say “Go save lost souls.” He said “Go make disciples.” For one thing saving souls is the Holy Spirit’s job. Naturally it has to occur before ‘making disciples’ becomes possible but what I heard was that once that soul is reached, we need to focus on the equipping. You and Melissa are demonstrating the blessings of an “equipped saved” life.

  3. 6yearmed says:

    i also really like this song. cool that you used it in school. thanks for trying to stick up for me too lol. but i have thick skin, i can take it 😉

Leave a Reply

