Saturday Night

Our church just launched their new Saturday service time which means that we have also added another Jr. High service. I got “selected” (as in the other two leaders said no and that left me) πŸ™‚ to the be the Sat. 7th grade leader. And…I actually really like it.

Partly becuse 4 of the girls that I’m closest to all come on Saturday nights now. This last Saturday I took 3 of the girls to go see a movie after youth group. They have decided that we need to hang out every week after youth group and I agree! They are hilarious. And fun.

img_2340

This is them. And yes we are in the middle of a parking garage because they wanted to sit in the “window” and take a picture πŸ™‚

We went to see 17 Again because it had Zac Efron in it. I was just glad that Zac beat out Hannah Montana! It was funny and cute and even though we had to sit in the very front row it was still a good time.

Hailey…the middle one brings the funny. The theater we went to is the kind with the box office outside the theater (it’s how they all are here in springy) and by the time we got inside she had already lost her ticket πŸ™‚ So after making her look for it I went and asked the boy what happens if she lost her ticket. He said we could just go in this time. So the girls want to know how I did it.

“What do you mean?” I ask.

“Well how did you get him to say yes…did you smile at him?”

“Uh no. No smiling. You will never smile at boys to get your way. Just be polite”

“Ok. So you smiled”

“well only politely”

then they go skipping…literally…into the theater laughing. They are a handful.

Then Hailey forgot her retainer container and didn’t know what to do with it so we put it in the pocket of my purse. I felt like I had reached a new level of “mom”…ick.

img_2338

I am so thankful that God is giving me opportunities to really establish relationships with these girls. I’m thankful for unlimited text so I can get my morning wake up text from Sarena and I know how her day is. I’m thankful that Hailey’s mom is another leader who helped me with my homework the other day giving me an excuse to hang out with the girls for a little bit. I am thankful that God knows my heart and my love for this age group and that He is making things happen in these girls. They are going to be amazing women of faith and I’m thankful to get to watch it unfold.

When I went over to Hailey’s to work on my photoshop project the 3 girls (they are neighbors..how presh) were playing outside and we could hear them practicing a “song” and dance on the trampoline. They came inside and waiting impatiently for me to finish so I could go outside and jump with them and watch their “performance”. I wish I had my camera and could record it for you. Basically it is them acting as robots spelling out my name and then randomly spasming out. πŸ™‚ Glorious.

Saturday Night

5 thoughts on “Saturday Night

  1. Kylie says:

    You are so sweet! πŸ™‚ No more squeak… I guess he finally grew out of it! I think he needs to see his friend Jody..

Leave a Reply

