When the tree splinters

They threw the trees into the chipper for hours today. They were in the same spot this afternoon when I came back from class that they were in when I left for class this morning. All day, the workers  parked at one spot along the road cleaning up trees that for one reason or another needed  uprooted from where they have comfortably stood and sent to the chipper to become small, splintery chips.

How often in my life am I like those trees? I get comfortable and rooted with whatever purpose I serve. To be honest with you I feel a lot more like those splintered chips right now than a tree with full branches.

I feel like my heart has gone through the chipper. It is splintered and rough and torn in so many directions. The passions and dreams and desires of my heart are ragged and in one huge pile of …what? I don’t know yet. It’s like I know that eventually they will be laid out in a playground, each serving the safe purpose but in different areas. Some will cushion a kid’s fall. Some will be thrown at bullies. Some will hit innocent kids in the face. It’s not that becoming a playground makes thinks “better” or “perfect” or “anything”.

But what I like is that there is always and purpose. They chips may need some work done to them before they can be sent off but they still have something to offer.

Our lives will always contain some sort of splinter. Sometimes we will be completely uprooted from all we know and split apart. We are and sanded and cut into something bigger than we could have dreamed of.

Psalm 34:17-19 (New International Version)

17 The righteous cry out, and the LORD hears them;
he delivers them from all their troubles.

18 The LORD is close to the brokenhearted
and saves those who are crushed in spirit.

19 A righteous man may have many troubles,
but the LORD delivers him from them all

When the tree splinters

One thought on “When the tree splinters

  1. kristin says:

    The trees have purpose too. I pray you find the passions and dreams and desires of your heart where you are and in what you’re doing right now until you are uprooted to do something and be something new.

Leave a Reply

