Joy

I was recently blessed to have a conversation with my dear friend Jenna. It was amazing how Jesus orchestrated that time and used her to encourage me in a HUGE way.

My heart has struggled lately. I struggle to be content, to trust His plan, to have confidence in what I know, to lead, to stand and be brave.

My heart struggles to be where I am. Every day I think of Nashville. Every day I think of CSM or one of my homeless friends. I struggle to not let my passion for the homeless community rob the opportunities and vision Jesus has for my life right now.

My heart struggles to be consistently joyful. Cue Jenna.

Jenna gets my heart. Jenna gets the struggle between obedience now for what comes later. And she gets JOY. If you knew her story she has excuses to not be joyful. She could be bitter. She could shut down. She could choose to live her life differently. But each day she chooses joy and obedience.

Throughout our conversation Jenna poured some of that joy into my life, reminding me how important it is to sometimes make the conscious decision to find joy and rest in the freedom that comes knowing why we have joy. We have joy because we have a God who loves us, fights for us, is jealous for us. We have joy because we have a God who provides for us and keeps His promises.

SO MUCH TO BE JOYFUL about!

I know many of you have or are experiencing this same feeling. Whether is the ministry situation you are in, work, a family crisis, deciding what to do in a year or just feeling empty. I wanted to remind you that it’s ok to struggle. It’s ok to be barren. CHOOSE joy.

Just for one day challenge yourself to seek and find JOY in your life. Lay aside the worry and bitterness and control and rest in the joy that you know is there. Allow yourself to see it for one day.

And then maybe the next day it will easier for all of us to wake up and choose joy.

Psalm 28:6-8

Praise be to the LORD,
for he has heard my cry for mercy.

7 The LORD is my strength and my shield;
my heart trusts in him, and I am helped.
My heart leaps for joy
and I will give thanks to him in song.

8 The LORD is the strength of his people,
a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.

Joy

3 thoughts on “Joy

  1. I love that pic of you up there. Beautiful!

    Thanks for this reminder to choose joy. “We have joy because we have a God who loves us, fights for us, is jealous for us.” Loved that in particular.

    LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

