Wholeheartedly

Ephesians 6:6-8

Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not me

A few months ago someone said to me “Jody, I see the most joy in you when you are serving other people.”

Instantly, my mind went to CSM and all the lessons I learned last summer. This sentence has been in my mind ever since then. I do love serving other people. But the reason I serve has completely changed.

Before I worked with CSM I loved helping other people. I loved serving but was totally fine helping other people then going home and doing what I wanted, on my plan and if helping my mom or roommates was not on that selfish list…too bad.

Then, I worked for CSM and began to fall in love with the idea of serving people as an outpouring of God’s love for them. I began to see serving opportunities as a chance to meet a need. Sometimes that need is to simply serve high schoolers dinner, or to volunteer for an event or to talk with volunteers, students and individuals who come into the office.

If I approach each encounter and opportunity as a chance to serve God and serve others I not only find joy but I get to give a gift to someone else. I get to gift the poor man off the street that talking to him is truly my pleasure. I get to gift the teenager that listening to them and hearing what they say is worth my time. I get to gift the volunteer that helping them clean up is an exciting time to catch up on their life.

How would your world and day to day be different if you served wholeheartedly, not because you had to but because you understood what an opportunity it was?What if we actually approached each chance to serve as a time when Jesus uses us to love on people? What if we approached each chance to serve as a time to meet someone else’s need?

What if we took the time to find what makes us joyful and we did that with our whole hearts?

So thankful for a summer with CSM and the chance to begin learning this lesson of simple, wholehearted serving for Jesus.

Wholeheartedly

2 thoughts on “Wholeheartedly

  1. I love this post because I feel that so often the little moments of serving are forgotten. I think as a church sometimes we forget that serving doesn’t have to be in a mission trip setting or on a grand scale. I’m not saying that any of those things are bad by any means. There is a time for everything and God uses it all. But serving can be in the day to day. A great reminder to look around at those I encounter daily and ask God how I can serve them.

  2. i love it when God allows us to learn some of the same things simultaneously! it’s an honor to figure out this crazy life with you, friend! love you & praying!

Leave a Reply

