To Lead is to follow

If ya’ll have been around this blog for any length of time you know my heart fell in love with Nashville in 2009.

The people I met there still frequent my mind. They still affect the way I live my life. The friends I made there are still valuable to me. Their opinions and wisdom are a blessing.

For a LONG time after coming home from Nashville all I wanted to do was go back.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my family and friends and people I work with here but my heart hurt to go back to Nashville….and so far I have avoided it.

To be honest with you I have been scared to go back. Scared of what I will feel. Scared I won’t be able to leave. Scared I will cry the whole time (actually pretty sure I will cry the whole time) Scared.

I am finally in a place in my “Springfield life” where I think I could go visit Nashville and not feel broken…granted I will still cry….but I think I could go and come back without feel broken.

A part of my heart will always be in Nashville; I still have a desire to go back; but I don’t feel broken or lacking anymore because I am here not there.

God is teaching me that I can plan/guess/desire all the steps and paths I want for my life but ultimately I MUST let Him guide me. I have to let him time that. It’s not that my “steps” are wrong or bad but the timing is off.

Psalm 16:7

In his heart a man plans his course,
but the LORD determines his steps.

Thankful that God is molding me into a better leader by teaching me to follow Him.

 

To Lead is to follow

3 thoughts on “To Lead is to follow

  1. deb says:

    The music is playing a beautiful waltz (ok, work with me here!) and the couple on the dance floor are stumbling all over each other. Someone isn’t leading and someone isn’t following. Now allow Him to put into order according to His design and see the couple glide, turn and cover the dance floor in beauty and grace. I want to dance like that with Him! And I know you do too. Hey, move over, this part of the dance floor is mine πŸ™‚

  2. Daniel still brought you up the last time I saw him (which was awhile back, but still…I’m pretty sure he moved to Chattanooga, or somewhere…). All that to say: Know you’ve left a lasting imprint in people’s lives and your presence is still felt. Really. Love you Jody πŸ™‚
    Oh, patience…how hard it is sometimes.

Leave a Reply

