His Name is Conlin

…and I’m in love with him. And any day now my sister will call me to say she’s on her way to the hospital to have this precious little man who has already grasped my heart so tightly it hurts. Maybe it’s because he’s my first nephew. Maybe it’s because I can already sense the huge plan God has on his life. Maybe it’s because I love babies and new life. Whatever the reason, I love him.

Dear Conlin,

Hi bubbers. I love you so much already it’s crazy. When you’re 5 and read this you’ll think I’m awesome. When you’re 12 and read this you’ll probably be embarrassed. But that’s good for you. Keeps you humble. I don’t want you to have a big noggin.

You are a trickster right now – you keep waking me up in the middle of the night with dreams that you are on your way – then I check my phone and NOTHING. đŸ™‚ So by the time you get here I’ll be exhausted. But truly you have no idea what a blessing you are to this family and my heart.

There are some things you need to know because you come out of your comfy womb:

1. You have great parents. They love the Lord. They love you. They were smart and faithful in following God’s plan for you to be here. Your mom is one of my best friends so you can always come to my house or call when you’re frustrated but know that I’m going to have her back.

2. You have really great grandparents. That’s partly why your parents are so great. Lots of love and spoiling for you is available!

3. You’re love in a tiny diaper. My prayer for you is that as you grow older you would be a living breathing example of God’s love to people. That you would be strong in your leadership, gentle in your words and bold in your example.

I’m so ready for you to be here that I don’t even have words to put on this page. But know that I love you and will always be your Aunt Jo Jo, will take you to Sonic whenever you’re thirsty, buy you food when your tummy growls, pray for you when you have a big game or talk and support you in any way I can (even if it’s supporting your pacifier dependency as a child)

Love you little man. Get here soon!

 

Love,

Aunt Jo Jo

His Name is Conlin

One thought on “His Name is Conlin

  1. Deb says:

    Pretty sure this is about the best thing an aunt can pray for her nephew: “My prayer for you is that as you grow older you would be a living breathing example of God’s love to people. That you would be strong in your leadership, gentle in your words and bold in your example.”
    He will love you immensely.

Leave a Reply

