When Failure Propels

Failure. We fear it. We avoid it. We take an easier road to outsmart it. We hide when it happens.

Maybe I should just put I instead of we but I like to pretend I’m not alone.

Failure. It hurts. It’s humbling. At first it feels debilitating. It’s rarely pretty.

 

And yet…failure propels.

 

It makes us think differently. It makes us receive help. It makes us take ownership. It propels us forward.

When we fail we can react 1 of 2 ways

*Own it and be honest in our failure

*Avoid it and act like it was no big deal/didn’t happen

Some of the best connections I have made with students is when they know I’ve failed – they might not get details but knowing that I have messed up, that I got in trouble sometimes, that I don’t have it all together creates a connection.

Failure can propel relationships in ministry.

One of the biggest “professional/ministry” failures I have ever had still hurts. I had to honestly go to my team and apologize for failing them as co-workers and putting something that was important to our ministry in jeopardy because I failed at the planning, creating and implementing process of an event. Students probably have no clue it was a fail – but internally it got a F- and it should have been a win. But it failed. I failed. And I had to own that.

This year – that failure is going to propel what our ministry can do way further. People are stepping in and helping. Teams are excited to do what they do best and plan parts, fund parts, execute parts so our team can focus on loving students.

Failure is propelling our ministry forward.

And that’s a hard bite to chew. But it makes me think about all the times when I was so scared to fail that I would just quit. Or when I failed I would be so upset I never dealt with it, never tried to make things better. The more I’m in ministry the more I see failure propel. Honestly, I probably fail a lot more now – but I do it with a little less fear each time (there’s still plenty).

Really – it’s a lesson in trusting God. The more I trust Him – the more I know that a failure from me is not truly a fail.  When I trust Him and seek Him I see the win.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” – Jeremiah 29:11-13

When Failure Propels

One thought on “When Failure Propels

  1. “You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.” Genesis 50:20

    We just heard that one in church the other day. Fails are God’s plans to make better things happen. I see it in my growth with God.

Leave a Reply

