Dr. Pepper over Sonic Ice in a Foam Cup

Dr. Pepper over Sonic ice in a foam cup.

Sounds like an alcoholic’s drink order – and in some ways it probably was. This used to be how I dealt with emotion.

Happy? Celebrate with a Dr. Pepper over Sonic ice in a foam cup.

Sad? Mourn with a Dr. Pepper over Sonic ice in a foam cup.

Nervous? Distract yourself with a Dr. Pepper over Sonic ice in a foam cup.

Frustrated? Mull it over with a Dr. Pepper over Sonic ice in a foam cup.

Overwhelmed? Escape with a Dr. Pepper over Sonic ice in a foam cup.

Excited? Share with a Dr. Pepper over Sonic ice in a foam cup.

I never knew food had that place in my life until I started to realized my emotional response was not prayer, exercise or talking to a friend – it was a liquid that did nothing but make my love handles bulge.

Today I ran into a figurative wall and my initial response was “I’m going to sonic as soon as I get out of here” then I laughed and starting planning Tiffany and I’s work out instead while blaring my new worship playlist.

I think sometimes how silly we must look to God. He’s there every time we hit a wall, get hurt, make choices. He’s there waiting to celebrate with us, encourage us, hold us and yet rarely has my response the last year been to allow Him to be with me in the moment.

So thankful to have people around me that are helping me see how unhealthy that was in my life….and not just the Dr. Pepper habit….but the never letting God in on my moments habit.

God wants to be with me in the moments.

I feel like this will be a long lesson for me. What about you….what’s your emotional response? How do you allow God to be part of your moments?

Dr. Pepper over Sonic Ice in a Foam Cup

2 thoughts on “Dr. Pepper over Sonic Ice in a Foam Cup

  1. Deb says:

    can you picture me with dancing feet because I’m so happy for you? can you picture me gratefully thanking God for leading you to this breakthrough? can you picture me celebrating with a bowl of ice cream? oops – guess I need to learn this lesson along with you:)

Leave a Reply

